The new Bee codes - Oliver's House.

New BEE Codes

New BEE Codes Summary


The proposed amendments to the BEE codes were first published for comment on 5 October, 2012. On 11 October, 2013, the Department of Trade and Industry gazetted the revised codes thus bringing them into law. The DTI has granted a 12 month transitional period until 11 October, 2014, by which time all entities have to comply with the new BEE codes.

Download the Revised BEE Codes of Good Practice (1.8MB)

The New Generic Scorecard

The new BEE codes have been reduced from seven elements to five. The new generic scorecard for the revised codes is shown below:

Code SeriesElementWeightingBonus PointsTotal
100Ownership25 points0 points25 points
200Management Control15 points4 points19 points
300Skills Development20 points5 points25 points
400Enterprise and Supplier Development40 points4 points44 points
500Socio-Economic Development5 points0 points5 points
Totals105 points13 points118 points
  • Employment Equity has been consolidated with Management Control.
  • Preferential Procurement and Enterprise Development have merged to form Enterprise and Supplier Development.

New Thresholds

  • The new threshold for Exempted Micro Enterprises (EMEs) has been raised from an annual turnover of R5million to R10million.
  • The new threshold for Qualifying Small Enterprises (QSEs) has been raised from an annual turnover of R5million – R35million to R10million – R50million.

Priority Elements

The revised codes defines three of the five elements as priority elements. These are:

  • Ownership;
  • Skills Development;
  • Enterprise and Supplier Development.

All entitities are required to comply with only the minimum threshold requirements (40%) for the priority elements. QSEs are required to comply with only the Ownership and either of Skills Development or Enterprise and Supplier Development elements. If an entity does not achieve all three targets(or two for QSEs), the entity is penalised by dropping one level on its scorecard. To avoid being penalised one level the minimum thresholds per priority element are:

  • Ownership minimum requirement – 40% holding of net value by black sharehlders;
  • Skills Development – 8 out of 20 points;
  • Enterprise and Supplier Development – 16 out of 40 points.

New B-BBEE Recognition Levels

B-BBEE StatusQualification - New ScorecardRecognition LevelQualification - Old Scorecard
Level 1 Contributor≥100 135%≥100
Level 2 Contributor≥95 but <100125%≥85 but <100
Level 3 Contributor≥90 but <95110%≥75 but <85
Level 4 Contributor≥80 but <90100%≥65 but <75
Level 5 Contributor≥75 but <8080%≥55 but <65
Level 6 Contributor≥70 but <7560%≥45 but <55
Level 7 Contributor≥55 but <7050%≥40 but <45
Level 8 Contributor≥40 but <5510%≥30 but <40
Non-compliant Contibutor<400%<30

The new recognition levels are somewhat more difficult to achieve than those under the old generic scorecard. If you are currently a level 2 contributor with 85 points, under the new BEE codes you will only be a level 4 contributor.

Enhanced Recognition

Throughout the new BEE codes various criteria appear which advance the interests of certain categories of Black people.

  • All businesses with an annual turnover of less than R10million (EMEs) are exempt from BEE. An EME is automatically granted a level 4 B-BBEE status;
  • EMEs with a 100% black ownership are granted a level 1 B-BBEE status;
  • QSEs with a 100% black ownership are automatically granted a level 1 B-BBEE status;
  • QSEs with a minimum 51% black ownership are automatically granted a level 2 B-BBEE status.


Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options